Is Failure Not an Option?

Artem Ignatenko
2 min readJan 20, 2023

--

I grew up in a society that did not forgive mistakes.

Each mistake has its name and surname, Stalin said.

The kids in the Soviet Union (modern Russian mentality did not go too far from the Soviet age) were between Scylla and Charybdis.

Scylla commanded: Are you a pansy? Just do it!

Charybdis whispered: Failure is not an option. You have to become a champion on Day One!

Madness. A straight road to neurasthenia, risk-aversion, and a very average life.

Many societies have this profile. Just look at Uncertainty Avoidance scores at Hofstede-Insights. Japan, Poland, Russia, France, Portugal, and Greece — are all above 80 out of 100.

“Better not to start if I have a chance to fail” (“Mieux vaut ne pas commencer si j’ai une chance d’échouer”. Excuse me for my French)

What happens when national culture and behaviour learnt from childhood comes to the job?

As a manager, I remember it because I was one of such dudes. Sincerely, not the same. My parents gave me a chance for mistakes. But one time only. They rigorously monitored if I had learned from the failure.

I promised myself that when I become a parent or boss, I will grant my kids or reports the right to make as many mistakes as they need to learn from them. With the only one exception: mistakes are not made on purpose.

Do you think “failure is not an option” might be used as a management practice?

Or we may keep it for disciplining kids only 😊?

--

--

Artem Ignatenko

Born in Russia. Nourished in Ukraine. Seasoned in Europe. This is my home of different cultures, people, languages, places, cuisines... Let me tell about them.